If you’re ever in the neighbourhood

small-porch-designs

If you’re ever in the neighbourhood, pop in. If you’re ever in town, pop in. Pop in for a chat.

If you’re ever in the neighbourhood, tell me and I’ll put the kettle on. Let me show you my home, let me show you my garden.

If you’re ever around, please, pop in. I want to introduce you to my kids. I want you to see yourself in them. I want you to hug them, and hold them, and love them. I want you to wrestle with them, laugh with them, simply enjoy the joys they are.

If you find yourself in the area, please, don’t be a stranger.

If you’re ever in the neighbourhood, please, come over for a chat.

Let me tell you about my life, let me tell you about my family. Let me tell you about our family.

If you’re ever in the neighbourhood, please, come on over. Let me fill in the parts you missed, tell me the things I’ve forgotten.

Please, if you’re ever in the neighbourhood, come and sit for a while. Correct me, discipline me, restore me, tell me the things that I can only hear from you.

If you’re planning a trip here, let me know. Let me know so I can clear my calendar. Let me know, even if it’s just for the briefest of brief moments, let me know, pop on over, don’t delay.

If you’re ever in the neighbourhood, my door is open, and open widely for you. It’s been too long. Let me tell you about my brothers, let me tell you about their kids. Let me tell you about the outstanding young men they are. Let me tell you how proud I am of all of them.

So dad, if you’re ever in the neighborhood dad, let me know. Let me know. Let me know.

Image from http://elikatira.com/modifications-for-front-porch-designs/small-porch-designs/

One comment

Leave a Reply

