Why I’m secretly happy Trump won

nbc-fires-donald-trump-after-he-calls-mexicans-rapists-and-drug-runners

It’s not because I like him. In fact, I think he’s a loud, shoot from the hip bore.
It’s not because I think he subscribes to any religion, save perhaps for the mighty dollar.
It’s not because I think he’s a particular moral man.
It’s not because I really understand his policy platform.

I’m not secretly happy because I dislike the Clinton clan. Truth be told, I think that family reeks of corruption and power for powers sake. Their numerous FBI investigations speak for themselves.

It’s not because of my own political ideology, my rightish libertarian leanings or my worldview.

It’s not because I think Trump is necessarily be a good or bad candidate.

It’s not because I’m a racist, a bigot, a something-ophobe, a Klan member or a fascist.

The reason why I’m secretly happy about Trump winning is because of this:

I’m secretly happy, because for too long, I’ve personally felt that there’s a group of people who loudly and proudly proclaim they are better than me.

I’m secretly happy because for too long, I’ve personally felt that I’ve been making tolerance after tolerance, and I wonder if it’s to the detriment of a pluralistic, classically liberal society. I wonder why our betters keep putting Western civilisation down and we dare not be proud of what has come from Western civilisation.

I’m secretly happy because for too long, loud and proud groups have proclaimed that some deeply held values of mine are both inappropriate, and deeply held values should be excluded from the public debate.

I’m secretly happy because the ‘media’ and a large swathe of the supposed enlightened end of town made a blood sport of demonising anyone with a contrary view to them. I’m secretly happy, because for me, this vote represents a big ‘up yours’ to anyone who’s ever said my views are something-phobic, or something-ist.

I’m secretly happy, because up until 24 or so hours ago, ‘the media’ had promised the world that Clinton would be president, and Trump would have absolutely no hope. I think it’s comical that mountains of sneer were heaped on people who dared vote Trump. I think it’s comical that they were called a raft of -isms and -phobics, but those ‘deplorables’ (to quote Clinton) gave a rats enough to care about the country they live in, work in and love to get out there and vote. It’s like those voters gave the middle finger salute to all those who were holier than thou.

I’m secretly happy, because by all respects, Trump was never meant to win. He’s the outsider even in his own party. He’s the outsider of ‘the establishment’. He’s a brawler, he’s rude, he’s brash. He’s got a truckload of mongrel in him.

I expect some friends and associates will bring up Trump’s stellar record with women and all the horrible things he’s said about Mexicans/Muslims/Gays/Blacks (and I’m waiting for the out-of context quotes here), and they’d be right. Like I said at the start, I’m under no illusion he’s some bastion of morality.

I’m secretly happy, because a swathe of polite, kind, community minded people I know darn’t speak their mind politically, in fear of being shut down, shut out or branded an -ist or a -phobic. To me, Trump winning is like that secret wink in your eye, when you know there’s others who think the same as you, and it’s okay to have a different opinion from our elites.

I’m not a fan of either candidate, but I’m glad Trump won.

I’ve got a stack of friends that have wide ranging opinions on both candidates, and I totally get, understand and respect their point of view. I understand where they’re coming from, I understand their fears, their anger and their frustrations. I don’t begrudge them, and I appreciate having their opinions, however much I disagree, in my life.

Just keep this a secret though – if anyone was to find out that I’m secretly happy Trump won, they’d brand me something-ist or phobic-ist.

 

 

4 comments

  1. Roy

    Well Peter, I am not secretly happy .. I am OPENLY happy. And I’ll tell you why.
    Mr Trump has dared to say what countess millions of us have been thinking for a long time. Just as Pauline Hanson has done here.in OZ.
    Trump, Hanson and others like them should NEVER have seen the political light of day.if the major parties, both here and in the USA had been even half as moralistic as their words suggest. Far too many of them have had their snout in the trough, to the detriment of those who put them there for ‘yonks’. At last the proverbial ‘chickens are coming home to roost’.
    We saw the dawn of it at the last federal election in OZ, and we will see a lot more of it at the next. UNLESS there is a genuine change of heart at the core of the political elite, who quit the politicking at our expense, and get down to real job they were elected to do, and that is to govern the country for ALL Australians.
    But here is a prediction. They won’t. Because they do not seem to have an ounce of decent common sense amongst them. They will continue in their arrogance until they are chucked out … just like the Clintons in the USA.
    Thankyou for your comment Peter. Come out of hiding and tell it like it is
    Pop.. ….

Leave a Reply

