Why I’m thankful for my sweaty crotch (or musing on 2014)

Not a sweaty crotch

Not a sweaty crotch

I had to pop out at lunch today to get my birthday present. You see, I work in town, and the only place that sold this particular present was in town, and my wife was in the suburbs and it’s an effort to get into town with two kids to get one present. She called up the store, asked them to wrap it for me and I just went and picked it up.

It’s particularly hot in town today. Very hot, actually, and I’m wearing heavy cotton pants. I wear them because they are good for riding my bike, Sweet Ramona.

So I walked in the heat to this particular shop, noticing a significant build up of sweat in my crotchal region.

I’m thankful for my sweaty crotch. Here’s why:

I’m thankful that today, I had to pop out at lunch to get my present. I’m thankful, because this means I have a job that allows me to pop out at lunch. Do you know that it’s harder to get a job now, almost more than ever? I’m thankful that I have a job.

I’m thankful that today, it was hot enough for my crotch to actually get sweaty. I’m thankful because we’ve had lots of rain lately, and this rain has reached some of the agricultural land in the west. I’m thankful for the rain and the sun, because it helps the farmers, and God knows they need all the help they can get.

I’m thankful today for my sweaty crotch, because it means the weather is delightfully warm, and after work, I can relax in a pair of cool shorts and drink a refreshingly cold drink, and it will seem all the more refreshing and cool after being in the sun.

I’m thankful for my sweaty crotch and my heavy cotton pants, because it means I am blessed to have a wardrobe of clean, fitting clothes (despite my roundish figure!). It means I have been blessed to be able to clothe myself and my family. I’m blessed that in this country, we have a choice on what we can buy or not buy.

I’m thankful for my sweaty crotch which I got from walking into town. I know that it means I’ve been able to walk down the street in the city I live without fear of some crazy nutjob blowing themselves up, drop a bomb on the city or do something terrible to my fellow countrymen. I’m so thankful that, for the most part, I am protected by a wonderful group of dedicated police who are committed to keeping us all safe.

I’m thankful that my crotch is sweaty in these heavy cotton pants, because it means that I have a reliable and cheap form of transport on my bike, Sweet Ramona. I’m thankful that Sweet Ramona takes me to a job I’m thankful for, and home to a family that loves me.

Pictographic representation of Sweet Ramona

Pictographic representation of Sweet Ramona

I’m thankful today that my crotch is sweaty in these heavy cotton pants, because I know that if I was not wearing them, I would probably be wearing jeans, and that means I would be catching the bus, and that takes three times as long to get to work and three times as long to get home to the people I love.

I’m thankful that my crotch is sweaty today, because I had to get a present for myself. I’m thankful because it means my wife has taken much time and effort to think of a present for me for my birthday, and I love surprises.

I’m thankful because this also means I’m a year older, and, arguably wiser. I’m thankful that I’ve had another year to love my wife and children. I’m thankful that it’s another year that they have put up with my hijinx and tomfoolery.

I’m thankful because I’ve survived being 32. I’m thankful that, on the current trajectory, I’ll survive 33. Those ‘in the know’ will know that 33 holds special significance for me and I’ve been worried about turning 33 since I was about 6.

I’m thankful not for my sweaty crotch, but thankful for what it represents.

Life is full of small annoyances. Some call them first world problems. Call them what you want, but ultimately, they are blessings in disguise.

Your kids wake up early and wake you up? Annoying, yes, but you can also be thankful that you’ve got kids.

Your work is boring or not rewarding? Tedious, yes, but you can be thankful that you’ve got a job.

The government is making bad decisions or are nincompoops? Frustrating, yes, but be thankful that in our democracy, we can vote them out for a new group of turkeys.

Rounding out 2014, what annoyances are you thankful for? What do these mean in your life?

Images from http://marcellapurnama.com/what-do-famous-writers-think-about-writing/

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/community/threads/what-type-of-bicycle-do-you-own.216269/

5 comments

  1. Karen

    Aside from being slightly uncomfortable at the many many uses of the term ‘sweaty crotch’, another enjoyable entry 🙂
    Also, happy birthday!!

  2. paulfg

    I know that sweaty crotch feeling. I get what it represents. Just make sure you shower! Those close to you love what that represents even more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

