U-Turns

68003_119_w1-11_c_lg

One of the things I have struggled with in the past is the whole idea of identity. Who am I. I know that identity means a lot of things for a lot of people.

I figured out who I am in myself – faith, family, personality, how I interact with the world. I’m just beginning to work out who I am vocationally.

It’s been said in the past that I should be a preacher, but let’s be honest, if I can’t shepherd myself, how could I shepherd a flock! Organised religion aside, there’s other things that I’m not. To be honest, I’ve been working on a leadership journey in my organisation for the last 5 or so years. You know where the journey has taken me? It’s taken me to realise that I’m not a leader. It’s taken me ages to realise that I’m totally cool with that, too.

The world is littered with stories of drastic, life-changing u-turns. Dramatic conversions to faith. Wealthy giving it all away for a simple life. Estranged families re-uniting. We all have our favourite stories of people doing u-turns.

It would be a lie to say I’m doing a drastic u-turn at the moment. It’s more like a 50-point turn. Some might say that’s just life. What I do see is that what I’ve been striving for (working to be a leader in my organisation) really isn’t me. I’m doing writing, both professionally and for pleasure. It’s strange. It’s exciting. It’s fulfilling. It’s frustrating. It’s definitely changing direction.

I’m interested in hearing your story. I’m keen on hearing if you’ve taken a u-turn in your life. Has your vocation taken a u-turn? Have you u-turned in your faith, or your family? In your life direction. How has it turned out for you? What lead you to the decision – was it out of necessity, curiosity or something else? How did you go about changing direction?

19 comments

  1. Sean Smithson

    I took a huge u-turn two years ago when I decided to quit my job to go travelling for a year. And then another u-turn when I opted not to find a ‘proper’ job and pursue this writing gig full time.

    I guess time will tell if it was worth it. But with the book coming out next week, regardless of what I go on to do, I’m very proud to have made that dream come true. And as cliche as it sounds, at least I’m happy.

  2. Karyl

    My u-turn was positive one – turning back to the church. It was gradual but sudden. It was a few factors that helped me get there: a faithful friend, my husband, and then being able to see how my life had fallen apart due to turning from God.

  3. suzjones

    I have only a week left of my full time job. All signs pointed to it being the right time for me to go. I am stepping into the unknown. I do know that I have made the right decision but it’s going to be difficult – made even more difficult by the fact that my husband hasn’t worked in well over a year due to illness and now that he is well he can’t find a job.
    What I am looking forward to is becoming what I can be.

  4. cathmae

    Big U-turn a couple of years ago. I was (and still am) very much in love with my husband of 30 years. We had so many complex issues between us and participated in marriage counseling to save our marriage. What we found out is that we needed to stop doing that and be apart. It was the right thing. Now that I think about it, though…was that a U-turn or a fork in the road?

  5. shops4shoes

    I feel like I’ve made several u-turns in the last couple of years. I made what I felt was a courageous decision to leave my friends and family behind and seek happiness in a new profession: teaching English in Korea. It’s definitely been one of the best changes I’ve made in my life.

    I’ve also made some big u-turns in how I view religion and the church… And I have to say, it has been equally liberating. I don’t regret looking in a different direction than the one I was raised to look at. On the contrary, this journey has been a most enlightening one.

    Good luck as you continue to forge your own journey in life and your career! Sometimes those 50-point turns are truly the most rewarding ones we make. 🙂

  6. notjustanyone

    It’s great to hear about other people who are making changes or realising that their ambitions aren’t really for them after all! I think it takes more strength to admit weaknesses than to boast… Good luck in your ventures.

Leave a Reply

