A Eulogy for Omom

IMG_2312
Olga’s first ‘selfie’ (with yours truly!)

I was encouraged to do a eulogy by a close family friend, for my Grandmother’s funeral. I had erred about different words and didn’t really have a peace about sharing thoughts. I knew my Uncle would deliver an excellent eulogy and I was concerned, compared to his, mine wouldn’t hit the mark.

I ended up doing a eulogy for my Grandmother. Want to hear it? (Well, read it!!)

Ok you’ve twisted my arm…

Thank you everyone for coming here today. Thank you Uncle Vid for that moving eulogy, I for one certainly appreciated hearing what you had to day. I know that each and everyone of you here today are here because you love, were loved and have been touched by the life of Olga.

I need some help here. Now who has sat at Olga’s table and enjoyed her cooking? Her delicious roasts? Pancakes with that rich, sour-cream filled sauce? Tea and vibrant conversation? I tell you, Olga could cook!

One of the things that I enjoyed most about Olga’s cooking was bacon rolls. Who here has enjoyed her bacon rolls? I tell you, I loved her bacon rolls!

For those un-initiated, bacon rolls are these little crescent shaped yeast-dough treats filled simply with bacon, onion and lots of pepper. They were simple, delicious and one was never enough.

For me, Olga was the perfect bacon roll. The elements, simple on their own, blended together to make something oh so amazing!

photo (2)
My first feeble attempt at bacon rolls!

How is Olga like a bacon roll? Lets explore these elements!

Of course, firstly there is the bacon. The bacon in Olga’s life was her relationships. Olga had really meaty, loving, life-long relationships. The love she had for all her family, near and far was always evident. If you were part of Olga’s family, either by blood, law or honour, you were part of her family for life! When you were Olga’s friend, or family, she always saw the good in you. She always wanted to lift you up, encourage you, hear from you. You couldn’t know Olga and not be loved by her. She was meaty in her relationships, she loved those whom she called family and friends.

The next component of Olga, like bacon rolls, was onion. For Olga, the onion is like her love for Latvia. Vid told us so perfectly of her traumatic escape from Latvia and all the hardships both she and her country endured, yet she still just loved Latvia. A love she was proud to share, to tell and reminisce about. It was Olga’s love for Latvia that has encouraged me and my brothers to seek out our Latvian heritage, to learn about her people, her culture, her history. Any time spent with Olga and she would beautifully describe her childhood in the farms and forests of her home country.

Hands up who has been on the receiving end of one of Olga’s ‘discussions’?! I tell you, like the pepper in bacon rolls, Olga’s conversation was certainly peppered at times with spicy conversation! She was not backwards in coming forwards! Sometimes hot, sometimes peppery, always in love! I often remember that, whilst she may have often been a little ‘peppery’ in her delivery, she certainly and fervently wanted to know your opinion. Conversation for Olga was a true exchanging of ideas. She was never scared in telling her opinion, she always, always wanted to know yours!

The thing that keeps bacon rolls together is the yeasty, soft dough. For Olga, the dough that kept her life together was her faith. Yes, Olga loved her family, her friends and Latvia, but most of all, Olga loved the Lord. Up until the very day she passed, she was still learning about, and loving the Lord. Her faith was a living faith – it had been tested many, many times over. She knew the love of Jesus in her life, she had a desperation to love a life that would honour him. Most importantly, she knew above all things that her eternal life is kept safe in Him. She had a hope in eternity that was unshakable. If you knew Olga, you would know she would want you to know that the you too could have the same confidence in eternity as she did!

Now not many people make bacon rolls anymore, but if you do happen to stumble across these delicious treats, thing about Olga for a moment. Thing about the love she had for you. Think about the love she had for Latvia . Think about the love she had for the Lord!

I know, above all things, this would have made her smile!

25 comments

  1. chinahand11

    Oh goodness I’m sorry for being flip, I left out the part where your eulogy choked me up. When my grandmother passed away, decades ago, I got the last two loaves of her home-baked bread.

  2. itsbecauseisaidso

    I cannot believe you were worried your eulogy couldn’t measure up. It was warm, moving, funny, loving. I hope someone does me half that justice when it is my time… Maybe I should ask you? I make beautiful cookies, I could send you some…

  3. Cassandra

    What wonderful and influential women those grandmothers are, and what an honorable eulogy you gave for yours. Thanks for stopping in over at the farm, nice space you’ve carved out here. πŸ™‚

  4. rabbiadar

    I’ve written and delivered many eulogies, and this is one I would have been proud to give. Well done! I am sorry for your loss; your grandmother sounds like she was a rare gem.

  5. Pingback: The things that don’t fit into a box. | vidinsinbrisbane
  6. Pingback: Who misses you? | vidinsinbrisbane
  7. 50djohnson

    Reading this, tears freely flowed, for I ,too, had a grandmother named Olga, whose parents fled to Russia. In time she came to America to marry my grandfather. both full blood Germans. She, too, was a fabulous cook, teaching my aunt , who then taught me. I just wrote a cookbook last June, including her recipes and the other side of my family ,Southerners. The title is Sunrise, Sunset, Recipes through Four Generations. The love of our Lord is the tie that binds us all together. Your post was a blessing to read. Thank you. Also thank you for following me.

    f

Leave a Reply

