Would you tell your workmates about a miracle?

brb394394934
Jesus promised he’ll be back!

Miracles. We pray for them. Hope for them. Get sceptical about them. Wonder about them.

Christianity in Australia today seems to be quite a personal matter. Most Christians I know (myself included) have a strong faith, who are happy to talk about it but don’t advertise it to all and sundry. Religion seems to be something people don’t really talk about, unless, of course it’s someone with an outspoken opinion for or against it.

So here’s one for my Christian mates. Would you tell your mates at work if God performed a miracle in your life?

Let me tell you about a miracle.

My step-dad came back from a run one afternoon – he runs every day. He said ‘g’day’ to the 12 year old boy next door, who was out in his driveway shooting hoops. My step dad sat down on his chair to cool down. In the meantime, the boy next door’s basketball missed his hoop and came sailing over the fence. Racing over, he saw my step-dad slumped on his chair.
Now you need to know that this boy had done first aid and CPR training just a week before in Junior LifeSavers. Seeing my step-dad convulsing, he raced over and checked for snakebites. After not seeing anything, he realised that he was having a heart attack. He called for help and commenced CPR immediately.
The ambulance was called, my step-dad was revived and spent the next few days in an induced coma in hospital.
The doctor revealed to us that around 98% of ‘out-of-hospital’ heart attacks don’t survive. Of those that do survive, many are brain dead.
He was taken out of his coma, as the Dr’s needed to see what type of damage was done to his brain.
Within days, he was alert, talking, regaining movement. Shortly after that, he had full movement, function and brain activity. Within a few short months he was back at work full time.

You can’t put that down to a co-incidence. You can’t say it was a co-incidence that the boy next door had only recently done CPR training. You can’t say it was co-incidence that his ball flew over the fence at exactly the right time. You can’t say it was co-incidence that my mum was home at the right time to call the ambulance. You can’t call it co-incidence or luck that he came out of having a massive heart attack (his artery had a 99% blockage).

It was a miracle. All the glory needs to go to the Lord. It can’t be played down as some string of cosmic co-incidences.

So to my Christian friends – I know you all pray for miracles. Would you tell your friends at work if the Lord did a miracle in your life, or would you keep it to yourself?

18 comments

  1. paulfg

    Oh yes! A biggie like that? That gets attention. That deserves some airplay! No one would shoot you down for being a bible basher on this kind of miracle. And that got me thinking …

    What about the smaller stuff? The little ones that keep happening that are “run of the mill” miracles? Is that newsworthy or “relationship” – more intimate – more intimate and relationship for “not ” telling?

    Nice question Vidins – it has made me stop and thing: to tell or not to tell? And why?

  2. Adam

    I think that as Christians we are called to evangelize to non-beleivers. Part of evangelizing is let people know how Christ works in our life. So yes we should acknowledge and celebrate miracles to those around us!

  3. Katie

    I’m typically more of the quiet type at work. You don’t bother me, I won’t bother you. But, with this situation and any miacle of the equivalent it would be hard keeping my mouth shut. It’s what I like to call a “God Thing” because it’s an everyday tragedy that turned into a miracle before your very eyes. Shout it out to your coworkers, your boss, the riders seated next to you on the bus. You might just change someone’s thinking about how God works and why. Of course, always expect the sarcastic eye roll every now and then from Negative Nancy.

  4. gruundehn

    Some years ago I had chronic depression probably caused by my medication. I had the generic version of Prozac prescribed and that was changed when that medication made me homicidal. The new medication stopped working and I wondered “What next?” At church on July 1 there was a Healing Service and there were 11 clergy in the sanctuary for that service: the Rector, the Assistant Rector, 2 Roman Catholic priests in the process of becoming Episcopal priests, 2 retired Episcopal priests, an “Interfaith” (non-denominational) minister, and 4 Deacons. I was one of the first up to the altar rail but the two clergy who were doing the sections next to me were not from the parish and didn’t recognize me and didn’t notice that I was there as they continued to work the altar rail. I kept getting more and more depressed until I was ready to jump up (I was kneeling) and run from the church screaming that no one loved me, and run to the nearest major street and throw myself under the first truck or bus. The Rector came by towards the end of the service and laid hands on me. I have not had chronic depression since.
    I do want to thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope I cause some thoughts in my posts, that is the intention.

      • gruundehn

        I don’t hide this story, but I don’t shove it down someone’s throat either. I bring it up and am willing to talk about it when the subject comes up. Medical miracles happen in my family. My mother had a surgery on her foot botched and was crippled. After a Healing Service, she was technically still crippled but she could walk and dance pretty much normally. Which meant us boys could no longer get away from her to avoid punishment.

  5. Nelia Gunn

    ‘Godincidence’ rather than ‘coincidence’. I may be shouted down for this Peter, but in Australia it seems to be acceptable to be anything BUT Christian. Speaking about anything remotely Christian here in the work place is frowned upon.I was told in no uncertain terms not to mention my Christian beliefs, yet had to endure endless discussions about numerous Eastern religions.

    • vidinsinbrisbane

      Neila, knowing what you have been through, to talk about miracles is just amazing.

      I agree, often it is frowned upon to talk about Christianity in the workplace.

      Thanks for stopping by – I’m flattered that you’d read my posts!!

      P

  6. Be Inspired

    This was quite an article. Oh, I most definitely will speak of a miracle at work, in the supermarket, on a tropical island, etc. This post is such a beauty and I pray God’s best for the young man and continued good health for your step-dad and miraculous and uncommon blessings for you.

  7. Allison

    You never know when telling of a miracle or an event that has happened might just be the seed of inspiration that someone else needs. I think share it. Thanks for sharing your wonderful thoughts and stories.

  8. Marian

    Yes, absolutely. Those who are open to miracles experience them everyday, and always have wonderful stories to tell. “For those who believe, no proof is necessary. For those who don’t believe, no proof is possible.” – Stuart Chase.

Leave a Reply

